Tamilnadu MLA


Constituency : Thiruvarur
Party : DMK
Twitter :
Website :


Full time Politician. Entered public life at the age of 14. Founder of the First student wing of the Dravidan Movement called "Tamil Nadu Tamil Manavar Mandram".

One of the founder members of the D.M.K. in 1949, D.M.K. Treasurer in 1961.

Deputy Leader of Opposition 1962-1967; D.M.K. President, 1969 onwards.

Represented State Assembly in - Kulithalai 1957-1962, Thanjavur 1962-1967, Saidapet 1967-1971, Saidapet 1971-1976, Anna Nagar 1977-1980, Anna Nagar 1980-1983, Harbour 1989-1991, Harbour 1991 (Resigned), Chepauk 1996-2001, Chepauk 2001-2006.

Now, Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu for the 5th time

Member of Legislative Assembly / Council for more than 40 years.
Won in all Assembly Elections contested from 1957 to 2006.

Was Opposition Leader in the Legilsative Assembly 1977-1983.

Member of Legilsative Council, 1984-1986.

Cabinet Minister-Minister for Public Works, in Arignar Anna`s Cabinet 1967-1969.

Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu 1969-1971, 1971-1976, 1989-1991, 1996-2001 and again from May 2006 onwards.

Imprisoned on a number of occasions for political activities, especially for Anit-Hindi agitation, change of name of railway station, against price rise and for the sake of Sri Lankan Tamils, etc.

Resigned his Membership of Legislative Assembly during 1983 for the sake of Sri Lankan Tamils.